Posted by Stacey Poole and Dora Dye on Dec 25, 2022
The Rotary Club of San Francisco’s Holiday Party was held on December 13, 2022 at the Hotel Nikko. The festivities started early with fellowship, a chance to spin the wheel to win a prize, a make-up session with artist Lawrence Wu, fun at the photo booth, music by the Spencer Hoefert Quartet, and champagne. At 12 noon, President Christopher Wiseman (Nonprofit Management | Glaucoma Research Foundation) welcomed Rotarians and guests and wished everyone a happy holiday season.
Ann Daugherty looks as John Mathers tries his luck at the Wheel.
Make-up session with Lawrence Wu, Maureen O'Shea, and Margaret Miley
Special guests included Past District Governor Eric Schmautz (Banking: Management | Wells Fargo), Past District Governor Bill Koefoed, and Assistant Governor David Dye (Management Consulting | Retired). The Visiting Rotarians were Freida Applegate and Danny Villan of the Rotary Club of New Jersey, Dianne Dorn of the Rotary Club of San Leandro, President Mary Geong of the Rotary Club of Oakland, Betsy Koefoed from the Rotary Club of San Carlos, Karen Schmautz from the Rotary Club of Indian Rocks Beach in Florida, Joel Valdes of the Rotary Club of Manila, and Paul Vazquez from the Rotary Club of San Francisco Evening. Past presidents, Board members, and Committee Chairs of our Club in attendance were also formally recognized.
Red Badge Completed
Clifford Phillips (The Arc San Francisco) completed his Red Badge requirements and was relieved of the red ribbon on his name badge. Congratulations! Clifford spoke for a moment to let everyone know how glad he is to be a member of our Club and wished everyone a happy holiday season.
Stephanie Schmautz, Clifford Phillips, and Tim Hornbecker
Master PRLS Graduates
Betsy Koefoed honored Immediate Past President Mary Liu (Real Estate: Sales | JM Real Estate Group) and President-Elect Sunny Singh (Financial Services: Advising | PK Wealth Management) for completing Master PRLS. In our Club, the following have graduated from the entire series; now, Mary and Sunny join this honor roll:
2011: Carrie LaBriola (former member)
2012: David Dye and Stephanie Schmautz
2013: Michael Mustacchi (deceased)
2014: Eric Schmautz
2017: Rhonda Poppen
2020: Susan Dean (former member) and Dora Dye
2021: Bob Hermann and Christopher Wiseman
2022: Mary Liu and Sunny Singh.
For the history of PRLS, go here. To register for the next PRLS class, go here. All members are encouraged to enroll in PRLS and Master PRLS for leadership and public speaking training.
Mary Liu, Betsy Koefoed, and Sunny Singh

Toy Drive
Per our tradition, guests were invited to bring unwrapped toys and gifts for the San Francisco Firefighter’s Toy Drive. Representatives from the Toy Drive expressed their appreciation for our Club’s donations and discussed the work that they do to make sure children throughout San Francisco have presents for the holidays.
Annual Meeting
Highlights of the 2022 Annual Meeting were published in the December 18, 2022 issue of Grindings and can be found here. The Annual Meeting was held at the Holiday Party.
  • Lawrence Wu wowed the audience. Not only had he served as our make-up artist for the party, but he also sang three songs, including “Music of the Night” from Phantom of the Opera and “I Left My Heart in San Francisco”.
  • Throughout the party was a raffle drawing. Congratulations to everyone who took home a prize!
  • Lynn Luckow (Development | introduced the members of the Spencer Hoefert Quartet who entertained guests before and after the party. Everyone applauded the musical quartet from the San Francisco Conservatory of Music.
Tim Hornbecker and the Spencer Hoefert Quartet
Thank you
The Holiday Party would not have happened without the help of the following:
  • the Glaucoma Research Foundation for sponsoring a table at today's party.
  • Gift Card Donors: Alliance for Smiles, Emily Borland, Lisa Christian, Christopher Davies, Stacey Poole, and Frank Yoke. The gift cards in different amounts were from Amazon, Hoogasian Flowers, Nordstrom's, Peet's Coffee, Starbucks, and Total Wine.
  • Raffle Wheel Donors:  Lisa Christian and Ann Daugherty.
  • The 2022 Holiday Party Committee: Mary Liu and Margaret Miley served as Co-Chairs. Joining them were Ann Daugherty, Nancy Graydon, Maureen O'Shea, Stephanie Schmautz, Sunny Singh, and Anita Stangl.
  • Volunteers at the Party: 
  • Registration - Gary Dales, Jeff Lerner, and Nancy Graydon
  • Scribe - Stacey Poole
  • Photos - Jim Patrick and Mary Liu
  • Microphone Holder - Alex Omoko
  • Greeters - Robin Azevedo
  • Photo Booth - Stephanie Schmautz.
Jeff Lerner, Gary Dales, and Nancy Graydon
At this year's party were two competitions: one for the "Best Holiday Sweater" and the other for the "Best Holiday Attire". After much deliberation by the Presidents' Council, Margaret Miley (Hospitality: Hotels | Retired) was awarded the prize for Best Holiday Sweater and Bob Hermann (Information Technology: Administration | Retired UCSF) and Dan Joraanstad (Financial Services: Advising | Retired) shared the honor for Best Holiday Attire.
Margaret Miley
Bob Hermann and Dan Joraanstad
Then, President Christopher wished everyone a safe and happy holiday season and encouraged everyone to convene at the dessert and coffee bar for additional fellowship and musical entertainment. A great time was had by all!

See more photos here taken by Jim Patrick (Retail: Office Supplies | Patrick & Co.) and Mary Liu.